Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



ΖΗΑΟΙΙΝ

# **ZHAOJIN MINING INDUSTRY COMPANY LIMITED\***

招金礦業股份有限公司

(a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 1818)

## ANNOUNCEMENT

## RESIGNATION AND APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, MEMBER OF NOMINATION AND REMUNERATION COMMITTEE AND CHAIRMAN OF GEOLOGICAL AND RESOURCES MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

The Board announces that:

- (1) Mr. Ye Tianzhu resigned from his position as an independent non-executive director, a member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committee and chairman of Geological and Resources Management Committee, all with effect from 15 August 2014; and
- (2) Mr. Nie Fengjun was appointed as an independent non-executive director, a member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committee and the chairman of Geological and Resources Management Committee, with effect from 15 August 2014.

### **RESIGNATION OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR**

The board of directors (the "Board") of Zhaojin Mining Industry Company Limited (the "Company") received the resignation of independent non-executive director, Mr. Ye Tianzhu ("Mr. Ye"), on 15 August 2014.

According to the "Opinions on Further Regulation on Party and Political Leaders and Cadres Working Part-time (Holding Offices) in Enterprises" promulgated by the Organization Department of the Communist Party of China Central Committee and in accordance with the requirements and spirit of the Civil Servant Law of the People's Republic of China, Mr. Ye has tendered his resignation as an independent non-executive director, member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committee and chairman of the Geological and Resources Management Committee, with effect from 15 August 2014.

Mr. Ye confirms that he had no disagreement with the Board and there was no matter relating to his resignation that would need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Company would like to express its gratitude to Mr. Ye for his valuable contribution to the Company during his term of office and offer its best wishes to him.

#### APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Board also announces that, Mr. Nie Fengjun ("Mr. Nie") was appointed as an independent non-executive director, a member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committee and the chairman of the Geological and Resources Management Committee of the Company, all with effect from 15 August 2014.

The particulars of Mr. Nie are set out below:

#### Mr. Nie

Mr. Nie, born in June 1956, is a PhD holder, researcher and doctoral advisor. Mr. Nie graduated from the faculty of Geology at the Hebei Geological Institute, and has received his MSc degree and PhD degree in Mineral Deposit Geology from the Graduate department of the Chinese Academy of Geological Sciences ("CAGS"). Mr. Nie is currently employed by the Mining Resources Research Institute of CAGS, where he conducts research in metallic mineral deposit geology. He is currently a member of the Degree Committee and a member of the Qualifications Review Committee of CAGS. He is also the deputy chief of the Technology Committee of the Research Institute and a doctoral advisor, as well as an evaluation expert for national science technology awards. Mr. Nie studied Geochemistry of Mining Deposits at the Geological Survey of Canada. He was also a post graduate guest researcher at Oslo University in Norway, a guest professor at La Trobe University in Australia, and a guest researcher at University of Tasmania in Australia. Mr. Nie is a member of the Society of Economic Geologists, a member of the Planning Committee of International Earth Sciences of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (2009-2017), a senior editor of Resource Geology, an international Science Citation Index academic publication, and a part time professor and doctoral advisor at Jilin University, China University of Geosciences, Wuhan campus and China University of Geosciences, Beijing campus. Mr. Nie hosted and completed 23 national level, provincial (department) level and foreign collaboration projects, of which 3 projects were with the National Natural Science Foundation of China. He has been awarded 10 technological achievement and honorary awards at the provincial (department) level.

Save as disclosed above, Mr. Nie did not hold any directorships in any other listed companies in the preceding three years prior to the date of this announcement or have any other major appointments. Save as disclosed above, Mr. Nie does not have any relationship with any directors, supervisors, senior management or substantial shareholders or controlling shareholders of the Company. As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Nie does not have any interests in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Future Ordinance.

Mr. Nie has entered into a service contract with the Company for a term commencing from 15 August 2014 and ending on the expiry of the term of the current session of the Board and is subject to retirement by rotation and re-election at the general meeting in accordance with the articles of association of the Company.

Mr. Nie will receive a remuneration of RMB160,000 (before taxation) per annum for his service under the service contract, which is determined by the Board with reference to his duties and responsibilities with the Company and the prevailing market rate.

Save as disclosed above, there are no other matters concerning the appointment of Mr. Nie as an independent non-executive director that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders and there are no other matters which shall be disclosed pursuant to Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

The Board would like to extend its warmest welcome to Mr. Nie in joining the Board.

By order of the Board Zhaojin Mining Industry Company Limited\* Chairman WENG Zhanbin

Zhaoyuan, the PRC, 15 August 2014

As at the date of this announcement, members of the Board comprise: Executive directors: Mr. Weng Zhanbin, Mr. Li Xiuchen and Mr. Lu Dongshang. Non-executive directors: Mr. Liang Xinjun, Mr. Cong Jianmao, Mr. Xu Xiaoliang and Mr. Kong Fanhe. Independent non-executive directors: Ms. Chen Jinrong, Mr. Choy Sze Chung Jojo, Mr. Xie Jiyuan and Mr. Nie Fengjun.

\* For identification purpose only